So (now I’ve got to grips with the simpler side of blogging!) I’ve set up this blog as a platform for my thoughts, observations and summaries of the top scoring links on the Reddit site.  I’m curious as to what it is that causes the popularity and interaction (through comments and the like) of the most popular links on Reddit.

For this little mini-project I’ll summarise the main content of the three top links of the day (at the time of viewing) on the Reddit politics page, a Reddit community of over 1,300,000 subscribers.  I’ll look at the content, format and ideology of the link and the multitude of comments, opinions and emotions generated through interaction with the post. My aim is to find out what makes a link popular, why it’s been upvoted onto the top 3, and to identify any trends of topics discussed within the r/Politics community.

